ELKO, Nev. (AP) — Elko County has been declared a natural disaster area due to damage caused by the severe drought in the region. KRNV-TV reports that several counties in Idaho, Montana, Utah and Nevada are now natural disaster areas. The designation means farmers can qualify for natural disaster assistance, which includes low-interest emergency loans from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's Farm Service Agency.

Farmers have eight months to apply for loans to help cover part of their losses.