This fall, British metal legends Iron Maiden will reissue the first eight albums of their career on limited edition vinyl, the band announced on its website.  As befits a band known for their visual element, the records will released as picture discs.

The project will commence on Oct. 15 with the release of 1980′s ‘Iron Maiden’ and the following year’s ‘Killers,’ with 1982′s ‘The Number of the Beast’ and 1983′s ‘Piece of Mind’ arriving a month later. The new year will kick off with ‘Powerslave’ (1984) and ‘Live After Death’ (you guessed it, 1985) coming in January 2013.

1986′s ‘Somewhere in Time’ and (finally, they took a year off!) 1988′s ‘Seventh Son of a Seventh Son’ will round out the collection in February. All albums will be released on heavyweight vinyl remastered from the original tapes. They will be packaged in gatefold sleeves with full color artwork on the inner bags.

The release is to commemorate the ‘Maiden England‘ tour, which is heavily focused on the songs from those classic records made between 1980 and 1988, with an emphasis on ‘Seventh Son of a Seventh Son.’

More From 98.3 The Snake