IDAHO FALLS, Idaho (AP) — The U.S. Department of Agriculture has granted disaster area status to eight counties in central and eastern Idaho, clearing the way for farms to receive low-interest loans for operating costs.

USDA Secretary Tom Vilsack made the declaration for Bonneville, Jefferson, Bingham, Clark, Minidoka, Blaine, Cassia and Power counties on Thursday. Fourteen neighboring counties have already received disaster status. Bonneville County Farm Bureau President Stephanie Mickelsen told the Post Register that for some, the loans will be necessary to keep a farm in business until next year.

Farms across much of southern and eastern Idaho suffered when ill-timed storms hit the region, causing grain to sprout before it could be cut and causing some harvested crops to mold before they could be stored.