The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame announced its 2017 inductees this morning (December 20): Tupac, Pearl Jam, Joan Baez, Journey, Yes and Electric Light Orchestra will be honored at the The 32nd Annual Rock & Roll Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony on Friday, April 7, 2017 at Brooklyn's Barclays Center. Chic's Nile Rodgers, who has been both a performer and a hugely influential producer, will receive the award for Musical Excellence.

As exciting as the announcement was for the artists and the fans of their work, there were some names on the fan-voted 2017 ballot that would have been exciting additions — Janet Jackson, among them, who has been eligible since 2007 and has been deservedly nominated twice. (Per the Rock Hall site: "To be eligible for nomination, an individual artist or band must have released its first single or album at least 25 years prior to the year of nomination. The 2017 Nominees had to release their first recording no later than 1991.")

Depeche Mode, Chaka Khan, Jane's Addiction and Kraftwerk also appeared on the ballot but failed to garner an induction — pick the biggest 2017 Rock and Roll Hall of Fame snub in the poll below.

And fans of the snubbed, take heart — as Rolling Stone reports, prog-rockers Yes were on the ballot three times before their forthcoming induction, after gaining eligibility 26 years ago. "It's a bit like waiting for a train," Yes guitarist Steve Howe told Rolling Stone. "Maybe it's on time and you just noticed waiting. I don't regret the wait. I just feel this must be the right time."

The 25 Best Albums of 2016

More From 98.3 The Snake